Healthy Quinoa Chicken Salad

Hi friends! One of my favorite things to make year round is chicken salad. Recently while making some there was some left over quinoa in the fridge and I though, ‘why not.’ So I added some into the mixture and it made the flavor even better! I decided to share my chicken salad recipe with you all as well. Hope you think it is as delicious as I do!Chicken Salad

Ingredients

2 Cans of Chicken

1 Cup of Quinoa

2 Stalks of Celery

2 Carrots

1 Onion

1 Apple

1 Tablespoon of Garlic

1 Small handful of Cranberries

1/2 Cup of Low Fat Mayonnaise

1/4 Cup of Relish

1 Teaspoon of Mustard

Directions

Step 1: Put one cup of quinoa in a medium sized bowl.

IMG_6123Step 2: Finely chop the carrots, celery, onion, apple and cranberries. Once chopped add them to the bowl.

I like using the apple and cranberries for a dash of sweet flavor since the other vegetables are strong in their flavor and it compliments the quinoa.

Step 3: Open the cans of chicken with a can opener. Drain the juice from the chicken and then finely chop. below is what the ckicken should look like once chopped.

IMG_6135

IMG_6136Step 4: Add the chopped chicken to the other ingredients in the bowl.

Step 5: Add the condiments to the other ingredients to the bowl.

IMG_6119

IMG_6132

Step 6: Mix all of the ingredients together.

Finished Product

IMG_6137

Once made, let the chicken salad sit in the fridge for 30 minutes to help the mixture ‘gel’ and become even more delicious!!

Name

What kind of chicken salad do you like to make? What else do you like to make quinoa with?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Healthy Quinoa Chicken Salad

  1. nyrmirez March 8, 2015 at 9:42 am Reply

    I’ve just started trying to incorporate more Quinoa into my diet and this recipe looks so yummy! I will have to try and make it šŸ™‚

  2. Sarah S. March 10, 2015 at 1:21 pm Reply

    This is really similar to the chicken salad I usually make and I almost always have some leftover quinoa in the fridge but I’ve never thought to mix them together. I will definitely be trying this soom šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

