New Year, New Apartment

One of the many things I am excited about this year is that Paul and I will be living in our Nation’s Capitol! This is so exciting for us to be living in a city filled with rich history! I am looking forward to trying out new restaurants, stores, learn the ins and outs of Washingtonian and explore the Smithsonians.

As Paul and I are settling in it has been so much fun decorating and making this place our home. It is a smaller apartment than our last but that forced us, in a good way, to donate items we didn’t need and become creative with storage and organization.

Here are some pictures of our new digs!

IMG_6004

When walking into the apartment this is the first sight that you see. To the left is our dining room table and the kitchen. On the right you can see the chair to our living room and the corner that leads down the hallway.

IMG_6003

This is the view of the doorway, that was behind me in the previous picture. To the left is the china cabinet Paul and I got off Craigslist and redid last year.

IMG_6002Before Paul and I moved we bought this rug not even knowing if it would fit in our new place but hoping because we got it on a great deal!! When we moved in it fit perfectly in the living room area. I love how it defines the area and makes it feel cozy. Also, when moving in, we tried to fit our couch through the door and it wouldn’t fit!!! OH MY. Instead we went with plan B and got these two chairs from Ikea for Paul and I to sit in and relax.

IMG_5998

What I love most about the apartment is how open and clean the kitchen feels. Compared to the galley kitchen, at our last apartment, this is definitely an upgrade!!

IMG_5997

On the other side of the refrigerator is a cart that our landlord’s provided us with that is great for holding the toaster oven, keurig, crock pot, microwave and more.

IMG_5992

When you turn the corner of the kitchen this is the view of the hallway. On the left is the doors to the bathroom and our bedroom and the laundry closet is directly at the end of the hallway.

IMG_5994

IMG_5993Here is the bathroom. We love how much more space we have and the tiled floor.

The Bedroom

IMG_5984

My favorite part about this bedroom is the exposed brick wall. On the wall Paul and I put up the prints of Washington, DC that I got him for our first marriage anniversary. I just love how everything came together!

IMG_5980

Another one of my favorite areas is the desk that I am using as my vanity!

IMG_5986IMG_5987 I love using the top dwar of the desk for my most used makeup items. There is so much storage in the desk and the top is perfect for my brushes, most used makeup palettes and more.

I really love our little apartment and can’t wait for the many more memories we plan to make here. 🙂 Name

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “New Year, New Apartment

  1. thingsshedoes January 11, 2015 at 8:41 pm Reply

    Wooooooow. What a crazy big difference. WOW.

  2. Mrs. Ashley Steele January 11, 2015 at 8:51 pm Reply

    Everything looks wonderful!! I love the white cabinets in the kitchen and that bathroom is perfect!

  3. David and Brenda Parnell January 11, 2015 at 9:17 pm Reply

    I love your new apartment! Y’all have done a wonderful job decorating and I know you both are so excited to be in DC. Hope 2015 will be a wonderful year for us all. Tell Paul we said hello.

  4. Administrator January 11, 2015 at 10:26 pm Reply

    Love your bathroom decor!

  5. nyrmirez January 12, 2015 at 8:14 am Reply

    That’s such a cute apartment! I love how you have decorated it. I’m excited to hear all about your D.C adventures. Have you all tried Busboys and poets? That is one of my favorite restaurant in the city they have such a variety of food that you will find something anyone can enjoy.

    • Kristin Sapperstein January 15, 2015 at 1:47 pm Reply

      Thank you!! I have not tried that but I am always looking for new restaurants! I will need to look into it! 🙂

  6. Kaitlyn @ Keeping up with Kaitlyn January 12, 2015 at 8:57 am Reply

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!! You to did such an awesome job with it! Can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

  7. Sarah S. January 16, 2015 at 10:55 am Reply

    This place is so cute, I think my favorite thing is the tile in the bathroom, and I love how you have decorated. You seriously have the best DIY peices 🙂

  8. bagladyboutique February 1, 2015 at 12:25 pm Reply

    Hello Kristin, I just happened to come across your blog through another blogger. Congratulations and welcome to the DMV area. I love how you have decorated your space so quaint and homey. I am a reblogger so I hope you dont mind me sharing some of your post that I enjoy.

  9. Happy First Blogiversary!!!! | February 5, 2015 at 4:32 pm Reply

    […] New Year, New Apartment […]

  10. Sarah August 12, 2015 at 9:42 pm Reply

    Hi Kristin, where did you get your bedding? So cute!

Leave a Reply

