Father’s Day Weekend

This weekend Paul and I took a trip to Lynchburg to visit my family. It was so nice to spend time with my parents.

When I was younger, like most teenagers, I just wanted to get away from my family and be on my own, and now that I am older I want to spend as much time as I can with them. It is funny how that works out.

unnamed (9)

On Saturday my dad had to work so Paul, my mom and I got up early to go to Peaks of Otter. Peaks of unnamed (13)Otter is a beautiful area off of the Blue Ridge Parkway. In the fall it is stunning to drive through and see all of the colors of the treas as the leaves are changing.

At the halfway point of the mountain of Peaks of Otter there is a bus you can ride almost to the top. We rode it up and the last 1500 feet we hiked to the top of the peak.

The view was amazing! The weather was perfect and you could see out in the distance for miles.

unnamed (12)unnamed (10)

 

 

 

 

 

 

unnamed (3)Later that day my mom and I spent some time together getting our nails done.

To be honest it was my first mani/pedi since the wedding…yes 7 months ago..so it was way overdue! It is always nice to be pampered sometimes.

That night, when my dad got off of work we all went out for Mexican food. Oh my was it good! There is nothing I like more than fresh guacamole!

Father’s Day

My dad has been such an important part in my life. Growing up he took a job that had him away from our family for a large portion of every week. Doing so, he was able to provide for our family, but with a sacrifice of losing time with us. That sacrifice was not lost on me. I hope that one day I too have the ability to work so hard for my family.

Father's Day

For lunch we all went to my grandparent’s house and spent the afternoon with them. This was the first time in years that I spent Father’s Day with my Grandpa Handy. It was so nice chatting with him and for Paul to get to know him more as well.

They live close to Lynchburg so when I was in college I would spend some weekends with them. It was always nice to break away from campus and have a home cooked meal and catch up with them. I wish Paul and I were able to do it more!

In the afternoon we had to say our goodbyes and head back up to Northern, VA. It is always bittersweet to leave.Β Even though the weekend felt like it was over in the blink of an eye I am grateful for the lasting memories Paul and I made in a few short days.

Name

What did you do this weekend?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

