The Daniel Fast

banner_danielfast

This week I started the Daniel Fast!!

The Daniel Fast is one that is centered around prayer, eating only plant-based food and only drinking water. Specifically this fast is centered around Jewish fasting principles and the experience of the prophet in Daniel 1 and Daniel 10.

Here are some resources if you want to know more about this fast: The book I reada blog, and a great Facebook page.

The last time I did this fast was two years ago. It was during the summer right before my Senior year at Liberty. At the time, I used the fast to center myself around my relationship with God and focus on what I knew would be a hectic year for me. Looking back the fast helped me tremendously in my Senior year at LU! My reliance on God, during that time, in the good and bad really got me through my last two semesters!

I have been thinking about doing the fast again for some time but decided now was perfect. With just paying off a huge chunk of our debt Paul and I are tremendously happy and driven to do even more to get rid of the rest. As I mentioned in my Goodbye Sallie Mae post we have decided to get second jobs. I am so happy to say that last night I was hired as a waitress at Chili’s!! I have never done anything like this before but I am ready for the challenge.

With these extra stresses, schedule changes, and new goals I wanted to do the Daniel Fast again to focus my prayers and reliance on God as I know the next few months will be challenging.

I started the fast on Monday and will be done June 1st. In the first three days of the fast I have experienced a lot of hunger pains and ‘detoxing’ as my body is getting used to no caffeine, fats, sugar, or meat. Today is day four and I woke up feeling better than I have since I started the fast! As my body adjusts I know that I will be feeling better and better!!

I am so excited for the next 17 days of the fast and to see what God is going to do! As I go through the fast I will be giving updates and recipes of what I am eating!

Stay tuned 😀 Name

Have you ever fasted before? What was your experience like?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

