Snacking Right!

Snacking Right!
One of the biggest problems I have had on my weight loss journey is snacking. I love to snack! On any given night I could watch TV for hours and eat a whole bag of chips in the process. What I find is that I must break the cycle of mindless eating and over indulgence!
1. Prepare: Preparation is key when trying to lose weight. Without planning ahead I would not be able to stay on track with my weight loss. It is when I am the least prepared that I fall into old habits.
2. Have Choices: It is crucial for me to have options. I do not like feeling that I am always eating the same thing or only one type of thing. One thing that I am really loving is Crystal Light. There are many flavors to choose from to change up just drinking water or even diet soda. Another great option is the Smart Pop popcorn. It is a way to still be able to eat some popcorn while watching TV or a movie but with less fat and calories than normal popcorn. Specifically, we like to get the snack size bags because for 3 points they are the perfect portion!
3. Follow Through: Following through can be the hardest step. It is about having the right mindset and staying focused. I like to have small weekly goals that I stick to and can think back on when I want to slip up. I try and focus on those goals and repeat them to myself when a craving for Doritos or Reese’s hits!
Above are some healthier options that I try to have stocked for Paul and I. One of our favorites is rice cakes. There are many different flavors and they are so filling for only 1 point. Sometimes we even add sugar free jelly on top or PB2. Skinny Cow ice creams are another alternative to the high calorie Ben and Jerry’s ice cream. When we are in the mood for something sweet they are a wonderful filling treat for a 1/3 of the calories and points. An old favorite is fruit. With the weather getting warmer *knock on wood* many fruits will be in stock because they will be in season. With fruit it is great freshly cut or even frozen for a refreshing snack.
What healthy treats do you enjoy eating?
Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Snacking Right!

  1. Zelizabeth B March 27, 2014 at 5:08 pm Reply

    My favorite discovery lately are these amazing pancakes made by mixing together 1 egg, 1 banana and 1 tablespoon of peanut butter. Then cook them on a pan on the stove for a minute or two on one side and a minute or two on the other. They’re delicious and so healthy! Combining fruit (albeit not the healthiest fruit) and protein and eliminating the flower!

  2. Kaitlyn (Keeping up with Kaitlyn) March 27, 2014 at 6:34 pm Reply

    Snacking gets me all the time! But I’m getting much better. The worst is when I want to have a snack after dinner. So far I’ve made it two nights without getting a snack! ha it’s progress! But I’ve already decided that mom and I are going to Short Lane Ice cream tomorrow night since I found out it’s open for the season!!

  3. Emily March 27, 2014 at 8:48 pm Reply

    This is a great post!! Thanks for the snack ideas!!

Leave a Reply

