DIY Protein Enriched Hair Mask

unnamed (29)

This weekend while Paul was watching endless hours of basketball I thought it would be fun to create my own hair mask.

I have been using the L’Oreal Total Repair Hair Mask since I got it in my Birthday Haul and really love it! It smells great and makes my hair feel silky smooth. I have a full review of it here.

I wanted to use ingredients to strengthen my hair which is why I used ones full of protein.

Egg: The largest protein portion of the mask comes from the egg. The yolk is rich in good fats and protein that strengthen the hair. The white of the egg contains bacteria-eating enzymes. These are great at removing unwanted oils.
Greek Yogurt: I used Greek yogurt to give the mask a thicker substance that also has protein. It also gives the hair a moisture treatment and adds shine to dull looking hair.
Honey: Perfect for repairing damaged hair. And it smells great!

IMG_1362

Everything you will need:

  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tablespoon of Honey
  • 1 Cup of Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Bowl
  • Wisk

IMG_1361

IMG_1363

Step 1: 

Add the yogurt to the bowl.

Step 2: 

Add the egg to the bowl. IMG_1366

Step 3: 

Add the honey to the bowl

Step 4: 

Once everything is added use the wisk to mix all of the ingredients. Once the egg is fully mixed in it is done! See, it is so easy to make this mask!!

IMG_1367

I had Paul add the mask to my hair. Let me just say, he was very skeptical!! Haha

IMG_1368

IMG_1369

Once the mask is in your hair leave it in for 20-30 minutes and wash it out.

The biggest difference I noticed in my hair was that it had a ton of volume. I did not expect this at all! My hair also smelled exactly like honey which I loved! I am really glad I tried this out and plan to do it again!

Have you tried to make a hair mask before? What did you use?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DIY Protein Enriched Hair Mask

  1. fashionforlunch March 24, 2014 at 3:26 pm Reply
  2. jen March 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Hey huni, I have nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂
    http://jenjbboutique.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/i-received-liebster-award.html

  3. Kaitlyn (Keeping up with Kaitlyn) March 24, 2014 at 9:21 pm Reply

    This looks icky, but I definitely want to try it!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 24, 2014 at 9:33 pm Reply

      Ahah yeah it was weird at first but it smelled really good so it wasn’t too bad!

  4. 14 Things I learned about ME in 2014! | January 4, 2015 at 7:02 pm Reply

    […] is totally acceptable to put an egg and yogurt in your hair for the name of […]

Leave a Reply

