Weekend Happenings

1901156_824272280921530_2108581960_n

The United States Capital is beautiful!! Two of our best friends, Paul’s groomsmen, were in town this weekend! Cody and Christian came up for the end of their Spring Break from LU to celebrate Cody’s 22nd Birthday. On Friday we went out to eat with a bunch of friends to a delicious place in Old Town Alexandria. It was so much fun to see old friends and meet some new people who Cody knew in DC.

Saturday was beautiful! With the weather being decent I knew we could not pass that up! I am so glad we did since today is another snow day!!

10007029_824271897588235_794721131_n

Christian had never been to the US Capital so that is where we started out for the day! We also picked up another great friend, Katie, to share the day with.

When Paul was an intern he gave many tours of the Capital and really knows his way around. Also, with his work badge we can go to many places a regular tour won’t take you! It was so much fun going around the Capital with ‘political’ friends.Β 1660937_824272147588210_994634907_n

We were all able to soak in the history and knowledge all around the Capital. It is also so awesome to think that many important men and women around the country have walked the same hauls making laws that impact millions of Americans!

The Whole Gang!!

The Whole Gang!!

After walking around the Capitol we were quite hungry. We went over to Union Station and ended up getting some food from Roti. Roti is a Mediterranean place that has delicious food!!

1979708_824272357588189_193730012_n

Sunday was a great rest day! Paul and I started off the day with the gym to get it out of the way. Most of the afternoon was spent cleaning and making food for the coming week.

If we don’t prepare we will fail with our diet!

Speaking of our dieting: Paul and I took most of the weekend off to really enjoy it with friends…and eat Birthday cake!! Having some time off really helps us to eat some of the foods we have been craving but also start out strong for the week ahead! I am down another 7 pounds which is exciting but I try not to focus on the numbers! I feel so much better when I am being active, eating clean, and drinking lots of water.

___

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend as well. What did you do??

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Weekend Happenings

  1. Kaitlyn (Keeping up with Kaitlyn) March 17, 2014 at 2:59 pm Reply

    Looks like y’all had a fun time πŸ™‚ And I want to come do these fun DC touristy things sometime, if you and Paul aren’t tired of visiting them!! Plus I was just thinking how I want to go to the DC zoo! I wish time before me returning to school wasn’t running out.

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 17, 2014 at 3:17 pm Reply

      Yes come up!! Last time I went to the zoo was a couple of summers ago! It was so hot I couldn’t really enjoy it! During the Spring/early summer would be perfect πŸ™‚

      • Kaitlyn (Keeping up with Kaitlyn) March 17, 2014 at 4:04 pm

        I went 2 years ago in early May and it was fun until I realized I had locked my keys and phone in my trunk and I had to call AAA to come out 😦 ha but it was fun besides that and we went into Georgetown to get cupcakes beforehand, which is always fun!

      • Kristin Sapperstein March 17, 2014 at 4:07 pm

        Oh no!! Yeah that would be annoying!! We won’t do that when we go ahah πŸ™‚ LOVE Georgetown cupcakes!! We will definitely go get some!

  2. If I Had 100 Dollars March 18, 2014 at 12:51 pm Reply

    I’ve been dying to make a DC trip! I haven’t been since I was much younger and totally didn’t appreciate the history. Congrats on your progress with your healthy living!

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 18, 2014 at 1:09 pm Reply

      Thanks!! Yeah DC is a lot of fun and there are so many free things to do! It is great for a weekend trip or longer if you get the chance πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

