Long Lasting Bananas

unnamed (10)

Bananas are amazing! Not only do they taste great, but you can buy one for 19 cents at Trader Joe’s!!! I don’t know any other food that I can buy that cheap!

unnamed (2)

I love having a banana with breakfast, a snack, in a smoothie, a substitute in cookies, and even in my pancakes. They are such a versatile fruit!

Also, with Weight Watchers they are zero points. Lately when I am craving something sweet I have been grabbing a banana to curve that sweet tooth!

When Paul and I go to the grocery store we tend to get about 14 bananas…now I know that is a lot but if we each eat only one a day that lasts us a week.

For the first half of the week we grab from the a nice, yellow bunch. As the week continues the greener bananas start to ripen so that by Friday we still have yellow bananas.

Sometimes even when buying the green bunch of bananas they ripen faster than what we can eat. This is always frustrating, but I have found a solution. Reynolds Wrap!

IMG_1100

IMG_1101

I am not sure why, but when we wrap the top of the banana with Reynolds Wrap it makes the banana last longer! This has been a great find!!

——

Have you heard of this before or tried it yourself?

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Long Lasting Bananas

  1. Kelsey March 6, 2014 at 6:23 pm Reply

    Wow, didn’t know that! Neat tip!

  2. sarahlearichards March 7, 2014 at 3:00 am Reply

    Unfortunately, I only like them in banana splits. 😦

  3. pugrunaholic March 7, 2014 at 11:18 am Reply

    Thanks for the tip! will have to try these! I just wasted 2 bananas because they got brown QUICK!

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 7, 2014 at 11:23 am Reply

      Your welcome! When mine turn brown I put them in the freezer to save for baking.

  4. Sahra March 18, 2014 at 2:26 pm Reply

    strange, but awesome! I must try!

    XO Sahra
    Que Sera Sahra
    PS Be sure to enter my giveaway to win a tee or tank from By Luciana!

Leave a Reply

