Coconut Oil: Brush Cleaning

Until recently I have only used coconut oil as my ‘secret ingredient’ in chocolate chip cookies to make them taste ahhh-mazing!

With all the hype of using coconut oil for beauty products I have recently modified how I clean my brushes to use it. I used to only use gentle soap when doing my weekly deep clean, but now love using coconut oil.

Using coconut oil has given me many improvements when cleaning my brushes. One of the best benefits is that it gets ALL of the product out of my brushes. Before, even after a thorough cleaning there would still be color residue on my brushes, but after using coconut oil I no longer experience this.

Note: During the week I spot clean my brushes with MAC Brush Cleaner. This is great for a quick clean that keeps my brushes from having too much buildup.

Why Use Coconut Oil:  
Antibacterial
Non-Toxic
Promotes Firming of the Skin
Removes Makeup
Wonderful Smell

IMG_1049

Step 1: 

Take one spoonful of coconut oil and microwave for 30 seconds.

IMG_1055

Step 2:

Dip brush in the coconut oil.

IMG_1056

Step 3:

Swirl the brush on a paper towel or washcloth to get majority of the product off of brush. If I am in my bathroom I will also swirl the brush in my hand until color is gone from the brush.

IMG_1069

Step 3: 

Rinse brush under warm water.

Step 4:

Let your brushes dry. This can be done by laying them down on a towel.

Remember, if you put the brush back in your brush holder when they are wet it damages the brush. The water from the brush travels downward on the handle, getting under the metal rim, that connects the bristles to the handle, which ruins the glue and causes the brush to fall apart.

I use the Sigma Dry’n Shape to dry my brushes. This product dries my brushes faster than anything I have ever tried! It also works to keep my brushes from being out of shape. If you would like more information on this look on the Sigma website.

IMG_1052

IMG_1073

Have you used coconut oil to wash your brushes?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Coconut Oil: Brush Cleaning

  1. Brianna March 4, 2014 at 9:09 pm Reply

    Interesting! Does it leave any residue? I think I would need to do soap before to get any bacteria out so my face doesn’t break out!

    xo Brianna | Glazed Over

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 5, 2014 at 9:08 am Reply

      If you don’t get a majority of the coconut oil out of the brush when rinsing it with water there is some residue. I find that I do not mind because it smells so nice and makes the brush really soft. But some people who use coconut oil to clean their brushes add antibacterial soap as well to get all the coconut oil off of the brush. Also, coconut oil is antibacterial on its own so it should not brake you out.

      • Brianna March 5, 2014 at 1:56 pm

        Awesome! Thanks! I’ll definitely try this method of brush cleaning!

  2. ellexelectric March 5, 2014 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Confessions of a Sally's Addict and commented:
    Such a great idea! I love coconut oil for all things beauty. I’ll have to give this a try for my make-up brushes. Maybe they’ll last a bit longer. 😉

  3. March Empties | Sassy Sapperstein April 2, 2014 at 5:27 pm Reply

    […] Uses:  In a Lip Scrub To Clean Makeup Brushes Shave my Legs As a Moisturizer To Cook With Remove […]

  4. Sonam October 9, 2014 at 6:21 am Reply

    Hello I just bought my sigma brushes and I cleaned them last night usingbthe Mac brush cleanser and I jus put them in a brush holder but I’m concerned if my brush will get ruined. I didn’t know we should lay them flat I’ll be sire to do that from now but will my brush get ruined 😦

    • Kristin Sapperstein October 9, 2014 at 12:48 pm Reply

      One time should not be too big of a problem. But to be sure, for the next couple of days I would lay them flat in case any water at the base of the brush is still there. At least you know now. Also, Sigma has great customer service and if one of them becomes ruined they will usually replace them!

  5. Liz October 17, 2014 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Just did this and it worked amazingly thank you!! I never thought I would ever be able to clean all of my brushes after almost two weeks of no cleaning what so ever, it worked wonders! xx Liz

  6. 14 Things I learned about ME in 2014! | January 4, 2015 at 7:02 pm Reply

    […] Washing my makeup brushes with coconut oil makes them super soft and smell great! SEE […]

  7. Rebbacca March 2, 2015 at 7:51 am Reply

    I used this method and I cannot get the coconut oil out of my brushes. I have tried using warm soapy water and my brushes are still very oily. And recommendations?
    Do you think soaking the brushes in hot soapy water for a few hours would work?

    • Kristin Sapperstein March 5, 2015 at 4:22 pm Reply

      Hey! Glad you tried it out. I have had that happen before because I left the brush in the coconut oil too long and it soaked it all up. What I have done to get the coconut oil out is use baby shampoo to lather in the brush, use water to get it all out and then let the brush dry. After that it is back to normal.

Leave a Reply

