Packing my Lunch

I have never really packed my lunch before now. I was one of those weird kids that loved school lunch.

Now that I am working full time and on Weight Watchers I try to plan, plan, plan for what I eat at work.

Following Through With What I Have Planned

The biggest struggle for me is to go from planning to doing. I could write lists all day of what I want to pack, but when I actually need to make my lunch I wait until right before bed. Right before I go to bed I am the most cranky (other than in the early morning ahha) and trying to plan to eat right when I rather be sleeping has not been ending well.

Lately, Paul and I have been changing this up to break the cycle. Side note: Paul is so patient with me!

On Saturday afternoons Paul and I will plan what we will be eating during the week and make all the food. By the time we are done the fridge is overflowing.

Our fridge this past weekend after all the planning and cooking:

IMG_0712

This has helped us tremendously! Not only do we have the food portioned out going into the week but dinner is done as well. This also helps with keeping us on track for going to the gym after work. Sometimes if we are tired after work we tend to choose not going to the gym over making dinner. By having it done we do not have the excuse of needing that hour to make a healthy dinner instead of going to the gym.

Typical Work Lunch 

A typical lunch that I bring to work consists of salad, meat, rice or bagel thin, veggie or  fruit.

With these categories the options keep me from becoming bored and wanting to snack all afternoon.

This lunch is usually around 7-8 points. If I was to eat a Lean Quizine the typical one is 8 points…just for a little tray of food!

Wednesday’s Lunch 

IMG_0743

Chicken 

IMG_0745

Salad

IMG_0744

Mixed Vegetables

IMG_0746

Pickles and Bagel Thin

IMG_0747

What do you pack for lunch??

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Packing my Lunch

  1. Christina February 19, 2014 at 10:32 am Reply

    So relatable! I always know I need to pack a lunch but also wait till the last second and then feel meh about doing it. So yay planning! I’ll often being leftovers if we have them, I also bring snack type things to munch on like carrots or pistachios.

    • kristinsapperstein February 19, 2014 at 10:40 am Reply

      I bring leftovers too! Carrots are the best! What is your favorite meal to make?

      • Christina February 19, 2014 at 10:51 am

        Hmm, well I really like to make couscous dishes. Like couscous with a bunch of different sautéed veggies and some kind of meat. It’s a quick and easy (and tasty) one!

      • kristinsapperstein February 19, 2014 at 11:52 am

        I haven’t tried couscous..we have been eating a lot of rice lately so I might mix it up!

Leave a Reply

