DIY: Bedroom

Part Two: DIY in the Bedroom 

If we can do it so can you!

Doing it yourself can be daunting and time consuming. Paul and I learned quickly that if we wanted to have some nice pieces of furniture or decor we needed to do a little DIY. We would not have been able to without watching a lot of YouTube videos for help. If you are wanting to do anything DIY chances are someone already has and there is a tutorial on it. If not, do it yourself and help others!

The Headboard

The biggest DIY project Paul and I did was making our own headboard. Originally I thought we would redo a cheap headboard off of Craigslist buuut Paul had other ideas. He wanted to us to make it all! After watching quite a few YouTube videos I was on board too!

The hardest part was finding the right fabric…there are just SO many to choose from. Once we had the fabric we were set!

Over one weekend we got to work and completed the project in just a few hours. It turned out better than I could have imagined and I am so happy that Paul pushed for us to do it. If you are interested in a step by step on how to do it message me and I can send some of the YouTube videos we watched.

The Final Product:

IMG_0194

IMG_0394

IMG_0386

 The Dresser and Side Tables

With my parents downsizing I swooped in and tried to get all I could from them. Thankfully, they saw mine and Paul’s need for some bedroom furniture. My parents generously gave us the dresser and side table that my dad had been using in his apartment up in DC.

The dresser and night stand was actually the very first pieces of furniture my grandparents, my mother’s parents, bought when they were married 50 years ago!!

I bet they never imagined that 50 years later their grandbaby and grandson-in-law would be using it for their first apartment together!

Here is a before picture of what it looked like when we first got it:

In our DIY craze we decided after 50 years it needed a makeover.

unnamed (4)…..Thumbs up!

We spent days on and off sanding “the beast”. There was a learning curve but over time we got the hang of it and enjoyed doing the project together!!

Once it was sanded we primed and painted it! The final product made it look like a completely different piece of furniture!

IMG_0404

After, we got right to work on the night stand.

IMG_0397

The problem came when we both liked the night stand and had no idea how to find a piece of furniture to match what we had just done. That is where Craigslist comes to the rescue again.

We could not believe our luck when we had found this side table. Unfortunately, we do not have any before pictures. But just imagine solid, dark wood.

Once we bought it (for $75!!)  we went right to work to paint it to match. To this day, Paul and I agree, that we paid more than we wanted to for this but it just looks amazing with the other pieces!

IMG_0398

—-

What do you think?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “DIY: Bedroom

  1. mrsashleysteele February 16, 2014 at 6:17 pm Reply

    Will you message me the videos you watched to make your headboard? I’m wanting to make something similar for us and just haven’t found a video that I think makes it simple for me yet….because yours turned out FABULOUS!!!!!!!

  2. Sarah Smith February 21, 2014 at 5:05 pm Reply

    I did’nt even realize youtube had diy furniture videos until you posted this. I now have a ton of ideas for my condo 🙂

    • Kristin Sapperstein February 21, 2014 at 5:08 pm Reply

      YAY! Yeah they do!! I learned a lot from them!! Send me pics when you move in and how you decorate your place!!

Leave a Reply

