Getting Ready for Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is a wonderful holiday! Ever since I was a child I have really loved the fact that on this day you can show some extra love to the people that matter most in your life.

People either think one of three things about Valentine’s Day:

  1. Looovveee it!
  2. Hate it. Don’t want it mentioned, ever. #animosity #novalentine
  3. Could care less.

No matter what you think about the holiday what cannot be denied is that, even if you want to or not want to celebrate it, Valentines Day stuff is everywhere and everyone talks about it! Just let it be. If you do not have a Valentine, which I never had until Paul, then that is perfectly fine. There is nothing to be ashamed about in that. Chances are there is someone in your life you love, even if that is your mom. Let them know what they mean to you. Use the day to stay positive and not negative. No one likes a Negative Nancy!

What Paul and I are Doing

For Friday and however long it takes us that weekend, we will be binge watching House of Cards Season 2!! Being Political Science majors we are pretty excited for the new season. The trailer alone has my heart pumping!

download

For Gifts

Paul and I are on a pretty strict budget right now so we have decided to keep our gifts under $20. I actually like this because it has forced me to be creative about my gift to him.

To me, Β a Valentine’s gift needs to have the right mount of generosity, sentimental meaning and chocolate!!

For my gift to Paul this year I decided to be practical. I guess I really am an adult now ahah! I wanted to get him things that I know he needs but would not buy for himself.

Last year on our first Valentine’s Day I made him a card and he loved it! Before we even set the spending limit this year I already knew I wanted to make him a card. Not having a creative bone in my body I went to Pinterest for inspiration! I found the perfect card that I could make that is not too hard and really lets me express all the things, big and small, that I love most about him! I am so excited to give it to him! Once I do I will be sure to make a post about it. Right now, it is a surprise so you will have to wait to see it!

There is also chocolate in his gift and a few other treats that I mixed together into something a little different.

I am excited to give and receive this Valentine’s Day, marking our first one as a married couple!

How are you spending Valentine’s Day?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Valentine’s Day

  1. Kaitlyn @ Keeping up with Kaitlyn February 8, 2014 at 2:14 am Reply

    Oh I need to watch the preview for season 2!! I’m excited! And I can’t wait to see what you give Paul πŸ™‚

  2. reaganfan88 February 10, 2014 at 10:51 pm Reply

    House of Cards.. yes such a fantastic show!!

    Mmmm V-Day plans include: Well, since my love is 7,000 miles away, the plan per my roommates is going to the gun range ..and they’ve requested we all wear red heels, lips, dresses, etc… so we’ll be a sight to see. ha There will be other activities for the evening as well, but that’s where the roomie group chat left off.

    • kristinsapperstein February 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm Reply

      Haaahahah that sounds like a lot of fun!!! Daniel better watch out of you will get a new man at the gun range!!! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

