Breakfast of Champions

Breakfast is important. Period. There are so many benefits from starting your day off right with a great meal.

  1. It jump starts my metabolism for the day.
  2. I find myself not snacking until lunch.
  3. By eating healthy for the first meal it starts my day off ‘right’.

What is hard, at least for me, is taking that knowledge and putting it into action.

Two Extremes 

Breakfast is so hard for me. Balancing between eating everything in sight or nothing at all in the morning is a real struggle.

The problem is, is that I am stuck in a place where if I eat breakfast I want to feel completely full, like Thanksgiving Day full. It makes no sense but I feel like if I am eating breakfast it should be a big, hearty meal. And that is OK sometimes but not everyday. On the other extreme, I feel like if the breakfast is going to be small and leave me hungry anyway then I rather eat nothing at all.

I am learning that neither is the right choice!

Finding a Balance

I have finally found that I can feel full and not snack by eating the right foods to start off my day. These right foods include everything I am sure you all have heard before. Things like: whole grain, fruit, yogurt, and lean protein.

The problem was, I could not seem to get myself from knowing what I was supposed to eat  and actually doing it.

Through Weight Watchers it has really helped me to pick the right foods, for me, to eat in the morning to stay full and feel good about my eating habits right from the start of the day. This is important to me. I hate starting my day off like I have already failed. 

I have found that a great balance for breakfast is to have one main part of the meal and two sub parts.

Examples of the Main Part:

  • Greek Yogurt
  • Oat Meal
  • Bagel Thin
  • Eggs (Typically 2)
  • Egg White Omelette
  • Peanut Butter
  • Cereal

Examples of the Sub Parts:

  • Banana
  • Apple
  • Strawberries
  • Melon
  • Tomato
  • Rice Cake
  • Juice
  • Milk

These are just a few examples of what I like to eat. A lot of which in the sub parts are fruit. A large part of this being that fruits are zero points on Weight Watchers! Also, I find that with the fruit I can eat it slowly and the two minutes it usually takes me to eat breakfast I can drag it out to fifteen or twenty minutes. I like that because I am slowing down and actually enjoying what I am eating AND it is like an illusion that I am eating a lot of food (haha).

Here is a picture of my breakfast today!

Bf4AZarIMAACIIS

Oatmeal, Banana, and an apple…YUM!

What do you like to eat for breakfast??

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. reaganfan88 February 10, 2014 at 10:47 pm Reply

    Love this!! I’m trying to eat healthy too.. and believe it or not I’ve quit Starbucks almost altogether, and not only do I bring my lunches to work, but prepare them in advance.. and healthy for the most part too!! Some things I like to eat for breakfast: eggs with hot sauce, apple slices and peanut butter, fruit in Greek yogurt. ~CB

    • kristinsapperstein February 11, 2014 at 1:48 pm Reply

      That is awesome!! We save so much money by bringing our lunches to work. Eggs with hot sauce sounds so good!!

Leave a Reply

