Apathetic.

My weight never really affected me. Not unless it was brought to my attention and I chose to ignore it. #Denial

Like most people overweight, if I actually thought about it sure I wanted to be ‘skinny’ but I had no idea how to do it. Over this past  summer I went for a doctors appointment and learned just how much I had hurt my body. Because I kept ignoring my growing weight I didn’t realize how it was affecting my overall health and future. I left that doctor’s appointment and a few after feeling shattered and scared. I was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism and Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease. If those two weren’t scary enough my doctor was also worried I was going to develop Diabetes and the possibility that I had developed lumps on my Liver.

I needed a lifestyle change and quick. And really that’s what getting healthy is all about: A lifestyle change. People can only hold onto a diet for so long before falling off.

I chose Weight Watchers, with the help of Paul, because it essentially is a diet that focuses on a lifestyle change. They know that if people want chocolate bad enough they will eat it, feel guilty, and break away from their diet. Like me every time I tried in the past.  Weight Watchers understands that concept and allows you to make the choice of what you are going to eat within reason of their point system based on nutrition and portion control. Those are two concepts that I have had to learn A LOT about! It is hard but worth it. I am still learning today and loving the results of feeling happier, more energetic, and lighter physically and emotionally.

In this new year I have made the commitment to stick to creating a healthy lifestyle for myself and my husband. It is SO important to me to be healthy enough to live a lonnngg time to enjoy life to the fullest. Cheesy I know, but true!

Since starting last year I have lost 30 pounds and cannot wait to lose more…not to be skinny but to be healthy! My body is counting on me to lose this weight so it can work properly! With weight loss and health there are ups and downs but I have the support of my husband, family, and friends so there is not much more I can ask for.

I am determined.

I will be successful.

I don’t have a goal weight.

I have a winning mentality for this lifestyle change!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Apathetic.

  1. thingsshedoes February 6, 2014 at 6:09 pm Reply

    So proud of your progress!! 🙂

  2. Kaitlyn @ Keeping up with Kaitlyn February 6, 2014 at 7:07 pm Reply

    You are doing awesome and inspire me to get my own butt in gear! I did Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred on Tuesday and my legs are still screaming! Ouch!!

    • kristinsapperstein February 6, 2014 at 7:20 pm Reply

      I haven’t tried that but I have some of her DVDs I need to start doing again!

  3. Very practical and true. Anything’s fine in moderation and I think Weight Watchers has a great deal of practical applications. Keep up the good work, blessings,

  4. David Brewer February 7, 2014 at 12:41 am Reply

    Wow great job so far, and I like your attitude! I’ll be following for the next 30 lbs. I’m sure you have already found what works for you, but there is always time to learn more – I’m in school to become a registered dietitian so my blog my be useful to you in your journey: whatmattersnutrition.wordpress.com

  5. aboutloseweight February 7, 2014 at 2:25 am Reply

    Find out how to lose weight fast for women at http://aboutloseweight.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

